Tail Wagging Recipe: Easy Peasy Pawsome Chicken

This is probably the easiest recipe I have in my book. I found it on the World Wide Web. Unfortunately, I didn’t take note of the URL because I had only written the recipe down. I never thought I would want to blog it (but here I am!). So if anyone knows where this is from, please do let me know.

It was originally called “Recipe #1” (which had no ring to it whatsoever – I’m sorry!) So I renamed it to Easy Peasy Pawsome Chicken! Not the best – But I’d like to think it’s slightly better. Right?? Hehe

Ok enough with that, shall we start?

Yes, here we go!

Image

We start by taking a photo of Irish while I gather the ingredients. Sometimes I feel like she knows I am making something for her. Crazy dog mom talking here.

INGREDIENTS:Β 

1/4 cup chicken breast

3 1/2 cups brown rice

1 cup carrots

1/2 cup wheat bran

1 1/2 tbsp canola oil

5 cups water

PROCEDURE:

1. Chop up the carrots

Image

2. Chop up your chicken which I didn’t have to do as I had ground chicken. Yay!

Image

…………..

Image

There she is again looking up at me intently with those big Mila Kunis-ish eyes (ok that was a bit much).

3. Heat up oil in a pan and add chicken, carrots, and wheat bran.

Image

I didn’t have wheat bran so I skipped it. It would have added more fiber to the dish which would’ve been better.

4. Prepare the brown rice. I do about 1:2 ratio of rice and water. I didn’t want to store so much of the dish for long so I decided to use just 1 cup of brown rice. I added 1 cup of water and….

Image

1 cup of low sodium chicken broth. You’ll find these in Rustan’s Supermarkets.

Image

And there it is sitting all nice and bright in the rice cooker.

5. Pop it in, start cooking, and forget about it for like an hour or so.

Image

………………..

Image

I’m telling you, she knows what’s going on.

(In the meantime, I wash the dishes, watch some crap on TV, go for a walk, etc.)

And finally it is done!

Image

Looking good!

Image

Image

Can you see the excitement in that face? Haha

Image

Oh yeah! That’s right. She is gobbling up the food mommy made with love.

Image

Well, what are you waiting for?

2 thoughts on “Tail Wagging Recipe: Easy Peasy Pawsome Chicken

Leave a Reply

