Easter Bonnet, Bunnies (and fashion)

Image

I learned today that there’s this thing called the Easter Bonnet which is associated with Easter (Duh!). See, I didn’t grow up participating in this tradition, so this was new to me.* I know about the egg hunt which is what everybody knows. But that’s about it. As for this bonnet thing, it required a bit of research. Here’s an excerpt from good ol’ Wikipedia,

An Easter Bonnet represents the tail-end of a tradition of wearing new clothes at Easter,[1] in harmony with the renewal of the year and the promise of spiritual renewal and redemption.

The “Easter bonnet” was fixed in popular culture by Irving Berlin, whose frame of reference was the Easter parade in New York City, a festive walkabout that made its way down Fifth Avenue from St. Patrick’s Cathedral:

In your Easter bonnet

with all the frills upon it,

You’ll be the grandest lady in the Easter parade.[2]

At the depths of the Great Depression a new hat at Easter, or a refurbished old one, was a simple luxury.[3]

Enlightening! But as it turns out, the number of women who take part are dwindling. No feelings about it whatsoever. It just explains why I didn’t know about it. Hehe.

Image

Here’s a sketch of random stuff including a bunny. So timely and too cute not to post! On a side note, painting flowers is proving to be quite a challenge for me. Arghhh! Must practice.

*In our country, Lent takes centre stage. I decided not to post about it because I’m no believer.

5 thoughts on “Easter Bonnet, Bunnies (and fashion)

  1. Hi Christin! How are you doing? I noticed you haven’t posted for a while. I’m missing your beautiful paintings! I also haven’t posted much recently. My life has been consumed by building work on our house – but I’m hoping that’ll be over soon so that I can get back to creating art 🙂

    1. Hi Tim! I’m good thanks. I’m flattered that you missed my paintings! Fret not because I am back and eager to update as much as I can. Haha.

      Anyway, you haven’t posted awhile yourself. Hope you’re well!

      1. Hello!! Really great to see you’re back!

        I see you’ve put your time away from your blog to very good use. Your figures look amazing. It must have been hard work to complete that course. I would have given up after the intro lessons! Well done for your perseverance.

        Well…. yes, I haven’t posted much recently, and have been drawing as little. I didn’t get anywhere near completing my 2014 challenge (1 sketch every 3 days). I have the best excuse though —- my wife is pregnant! Exciting times. However, I am missing drawing very much – I need to follow your example and carry a small sketchpad with me everywhere I go. Are you still doing that?

      2. I still do. I don’t draw every time. Eek! But I’d like to keep it there just in case. I have also slowly made peace with the fear of starting to draw (which is the culprit in my exploration). It used to take a lot of mental effort to begin but I think I may have gotten over it. You just gotta make enough mistakes for it not to matter anymore. Ha! Besides, it’s the best way to learn. Anyway, hope you can continue to follow even with your current situation.

        Congratulations again!

      3. Thanks. Starting a drawing is always the hardest bit for me. So hesitant to put down the first marks!

        The day you replied to me (Friday) was the day I was also posting to my art blog to say that I have decided to put my artistic endeavours on hold, indefinitely: https://artfn.wordpress.com/2015/03/13/going-dormant/

        It was a sad decision for me, but needed to be made with my new upcoming situation. Hopefully I’ll be back doing what I love in a few years with a new passion, but until then I’ll just be keeping my eye on what others such as yourself are up to.

Leave a Reply

